One of 3D Mapping Cloud’s paramount features is the ease to share data.
Easy sharing with co-workers, either within your team or in another department, even on the other side of the globe.
But also sharing with third-party users such as customers, contractors, consultants, and others. Define access to data by setting the right permissions.
Every Resource or Publication can be shared with anyone else, on the level of a Named User, a Team or a whole Organization. It can be within your organization, or with any other organization known in 3D Mapping Cloud. It’s also possible to share Publications or Bookmarks with anonymous Guest Users, that do not require to Sign In.
A Resource or other sharable item is owned by a Named User. A Named User belongs to one single Organisation.
The Named User that uploads a Resource becomes the Resource Owner. The Resource access permission is set to “Private”, meaning only the Resource Owner and the higher ranked user roles such as the company’s Resource Manager, Administrators and Account Owner, have access to the Resource.
Resources can be shared with Named Users and Teams within your organization or outside your organization. Additionally, Publications can be shared with Guest Users. Bookmarks can be shared with other Named Users or Guest Users.
Only Named Users having the User Role “Sharing Manager” can share Resources, Publications and Bookmarks.
To share a Resource or Publication, go to
Console > Company Catalog > Cloud Resources > Choose ‘Share’ in the menu
Console > Company Catalog > Publications > Choose ‘Share’ in the menu
If a Resource is not shared, it is a Private Resource.
Internal Shared Resources
Resources shared with Named Users who belong to the same Organisaton of the Resource Owner.
External Shared Resources
Resources shared with at lease one Named User of another Organization or shared with Guest Users.
3rd Party Resources
Resources owned by another Organization. Access is granted by an External Share.
Read more about Bookmarks.
Deleting a share is as easy as creating one. However, a single note to add:
When removing a share, the User’s Catalog will be updated instantly, the removed resource will no longer be listed. But if the user is currently using this resource, the resource will remain available to the user for a maximum of 1 hour. After the hourly session renewal, any use of the resource will be blocked.